William Grant Still :: Symphony No.1 (Afro-American Symphony)


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Still, William Grant
(b Woodville, MS, 11 May 1895; d Los Angeles, 3 Dec 1978). American
Symphony No.1 (Afro-American Symphony) <1930; rev 1969>
Specific information available for subscribers.
The 1969 revision requires one less clarinet (i.e., [1.2.bcl]), but parts for that version may not be available.
Charles Latshaw has completed a critital edition which is yet to be published; it is available from the editor (charleslatshaw.com) but the piece must still be rented from Novello/Schirmer.
I. Longing: Moderato assai
II. Sorrow: Adagio
III. Humor: Animato
IV. Aspiration: lento; con risoluzione

Additional info
Contents—Longing; Sorrow; Humor; Aspiration