Felix Mendelssohn :: Symphony No.2, op.52a (from "Lobgesang")


Dear visitor!
If you haven't found what you were looking for, try our advanced search for members on all composers, works and instrumentation details.
If you are not a member of Daniels' Orchestral Music Online yet, you can subscribe here.
Mendelssohn, Felix
(b Hamburg, 3 Feb 1809; d Leipzig, 4 Nov 1847). German
Symphony No.2, op.52a (from "Lobgesang") <1840>
Specific information available for subscribers.
This symphony consists of the opening instrumental sections of the symphony-cantata Lobgesang. Breitkopf previously offered also an edition of this symphony "with final chorus in the version shortened by Mendelssohn"; this requires chorus and solos SST in addition to the above instrumentation, but it may now be out of print. Total duration of that version: 37'.
I. Allegro
II. Allegretto un poco agitato
III. Adagio religioso