Felix Mendelssohn :: Symphony No.4, op.90, A major (Italian)


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Mendelssohn, Felix
(b Hamburg, 3 Feb 1809; d Leipzig, 4 Nov 1847). German
Symphony No.4, op.90, A major (Italian) <1833>
Specific information available for subscribers.
Breitkopf ed. of the standard 1833 version by Thomas Schmidt-Beste.
Mendelssohn, never satisfied, revised mvts 2, 3 & 4 of this work in 1834 but did not complete planned revisions to the 1st mvt. This partially-revised version was published for the first time in 1999. Score and parts, ed. John Michael Cooper, are available from Reichert.
The Bärenreiter ed., by Christopher Hogwood, includes all the performance material for the standard 1833 version, as well as the revised 1834 version of mvts 2, 3 & 4.
I. Allegro vivace
II. Andante con moto
III. Con moto moderato
IV. Saltarello: Presto