Felix Mendelssohn :: Symphony No.5, op.107, D major (Reformation)


Dear visitor!
This is a limited version of the search results. In order to see the full details for your search, please subscribe to Daniels' Orchestral Music Online here.
Mendelssohn, Felix
(b Hamburg, 3 Feb 1809; d Leipzig, 4 Nov 1847). German
Symphony No.5, op.107, D major (Reformation) <1830; rev
1832 (alternative ending)>
Specific information available for subscribers.
Score calls for "contrafagotto e serpente," (4th mvt only) playing in unison. This suggests the doubling of the cbn part with a modern tuba. However, no separate tuba part is provided in published materials; the part is normally played on contrabassoon.
The Bärenreiter ed. by Christopher Hogwood includes a 30-bar transition between the 3rd & 4th mvts—a transition that was later deleted by the composer.
Breitkopf urtext ed Thomas Schmidt
I. Andante - Allegro con fuoco
II. Allegro vivace
III. Andante
IV. Chorale: Andante con moto - Allegro vivace