Gustav Mahler :: Symphony No.2, C minor (Resurrection; Auferstehungssymphonie)


Dear visitor!
If you haven't found what you were looking for, try our advanced search for members on all composers, works and instrumentation details.
If you are not a member of Daniels' Orchestral Music Online yet, you can subscribe here.
Mahler, Gustav
(b Kalischt, nr Iglau [now Kaliste, Jihlava], Bohemia, 7 July 1860; d Vienna, 18 May 1911). Austrian
Symphony No.2, C minor (Resurrection;
Auferstehungssymphonie) <1888–1894; rev 1903>
chorus solos SA
Specific information available for subscribers.
Cl 1-3 play C-clarinets in parts of the 2nd & 3rd mvts (81 bars totale) Cbn is sometimes in the 3rd bn part and sometimes in the 4th; however, only 1 cbn is required. Possible with 6tp. Important offstage passages for players (drawn from the above aggregate): 4hn, 4tp, 3perc.
Universal ed. Gilbert Kaplan & Renate Stark-Voit, 2010.
Universal offers a reduced version by Erwin Stein with winds:
3[incl pic] 3[incl Eh] 3[incl bcl] 3[incl cbn] — 4 3 3 1 — [no org]
An improved choral score by Tom Cunningham (Goodmusic Publishing) is available at

Source of text: Mvt 4 (Urlicht) from Des Knaben Wunderhorn; mvt 5 from F.G. Klopstock. Language: German
I. Allegro maestoso
II. Andante moderato
III. In ruhig fliessender Bewegung
IV. Urlicht (Primeval Light)
V. Im Tempo des Scherzo