Gustav Mahler :: Symphony No.4, G major


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Mahler, Gustav
(b Kalischt, nr Iglau [now Kaliste, Jihlava], Bohemia, 7 July 1860; d Vienna, 18 May 1911). Austrian
Symphony No.4, G major <1892–1900; rev 1901–1910>
soprano solo
Specific information available for subscribers.
Soprano solo in mvt. 4 only. Scordatura solo violin in mvt 2. 1st cl plays C-clarinet for 10 bars in 1st mvt, and 3rd cl plays C-clarinet for 8 bars. Bcl mostly in B-flat, though scattered passages for bcl in A (9 bars in 1st mvt & 29 bars in 3rd mvt).
Universal ed. Erwin Ratz & Karl Heinz Füssl, 1995 ("corrected edition").
Breitkopf urtext ed Christian Rudolf Riedel.

Source of text: From Des Knaben Wunderhorn, German folk poems, collected by Achim von Armin & Clemens von Brentano (1806-1808). Language: German
I. Bedächtig; nicht eilen
II. In gemächlicher Bewegung; ohne Hast
III. Ruhevoll
IV. Sehr behaglich