Gustav Mahler :: Symphony No.6, A minor (Tragic)


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Mahler, Gustav
(b Kalischt, nr Iglau [now Kaliste, Jihlava], Bohemia, 7 July 1860; d Vienna, 18 May 1911). Austrian
Symphony No.6, A minor (Tragic) <1903–1904; rev 1906;
scoring repeatedly revised>
Specific information available for subscribers.
Ed. Erwin Ratz / Karl Heinz Füssl / Reinhold Kubik; new engraving, 1998. New edition by Kubik, 2010.
The score suggests in places that the 2 harp parts be doubled. The composer also calls for 2 or more celestas if possible. Oboe parts may need some adjustment: Eh is a separate part in the 4th mvt (the only mvt requiring 5 players); mvts 2 & 3 each call briefly for 2Eh (in the ob3 & ob4 parts). Net result: never are more than 2Eh called for simultaneously. In 4th mvt, 4th cl plays D-cl, and bcl is in A (in the earlier mvts in B-flat). Tmp2 should cover perc in the
Scherzo; otherwise an extra percussionist is required.
There is some controversy over the order of the inner movements;
Andante second and Scherzo third has the most adherents at the moment. Rehearsal numbers for these two mvts vary; score and parts must therefore be collated to ensure agreement.
Also somewhat controversial: whether there are 2 or 3 great hammerstrokes in mvt 4.
I. Allegro energico, ma non troppo
II. Andante moderato
III. Scherzo
IV. Finale