Hector Berlioz :: Symphonie fantastique, op.14 (Fantastic Symphony)


Dear visitor!
If you haven't found what you were looking for, try our advanced search for members on all composers, works and instrumentation details.
If you are not a member of Daniels' Orchestral Music Online yet, you can subscribe here.
Berlioz, Hector
(b La Cote-Saint-Andre, Isere, 11 Dec 1803; d Paris, 8 March 1869). French
Symphonie fantastique, op.14 (Fantastic Symphony) <1830>
Specific information available for subscribers.
Offstage oboe (ob1) in mvt 3; offstage low bells in final mvt.
A critical edition of the score with historical and analytical essays is available from Norton. Yoon Jae Lee has created a concordance of rehearsal letters and numbers as found in various editions; it is available gratis from Ondine Press (www.issuu.com/ondinepress) or at http://imslp.org/wiki/Special:ImagefromIndex/365959.
A special optional solo cornet part for the 2nd mvt (where trumpets and cornets are otherwise tacet) may have been written for a performance by the legendary Jean-Baptiste Arban. This part is included in the Kalmus set; it is also available in Appendix III of the Bärenreiter collected edition of Berlioz in a format that can be photocopied and used in performance (v.16, p.197). The Norton score integrates the part into the score of the 2nd mvt.
1. Rêveries, Passions
2. Un bal (A Ball)
3. Scène aux champs (Scene in the Country)
4. Marche au supplice (March to the Scaffold)
5. Songe d'une nuit du sabbat (Dream of a Witches'

Additional info
Contents—1. Rêveries, Passions; 2. Un bal (A Ball); 3. Scène aux champs (Scene in the Country); 4. Marche au supplice (March to the Scaffold); 5. Songe d'une nuit du sabbat (Dream of a Witches' Sabbath)