Igor Stravinsky :: Renard


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Stravinsky, Igor
(b Oranienbaum, nr St Petersburg, 5/17 June 1882; d New York, 6 April 1971). Russian composer, later of French (1934) and American (1945) nationality
Renard <1915–1916>
solos: 2 tenors, 2 basses
Specific information available for subscribers.
Full title: Fable of the Fox, the Cock, the Tomcat and the Ram / Reynard (Bayka pro lisu, petukha, kota da barana / Renard).
For staging: clowns, dancers and acrobats, who mime the action; the singers sit in the small orchestra.
A part for piano (as substitute for the cimbalom) is available with the Chester rental parts; it is of uncertain provenance. It replaces the cimbalom, but the music is retouched to be more pianistic.

Source of text: Stravinsky, after A.N. Afanas’yev. French singing version by Charles-Ferdinand Ramuz; German singing version by Rupert Koller. Language: Russian