Igor Stravinsky :: The Firebird (Zhar'-ptitsa; L'oiseau de feu)


Dear visitor!
Do you need more information about this work?
Sign up to get the full details on all composers, works and instrumentation.
Stravinsky, Igor
(b Oranienbaum, nr St Petersburg, 5/17 June 1882; d New York, 6 April 1971). Russian composer, later of French (1934) and American (1945) nationality
The Firebird (Zhar'-ptitsa; L'oiseau de feu) <1909–1910>
Specific information available for subscribers.
Schott critical edition by Herbert Schneider.
Cl 3 is said to double on D-clarinet (perhaps
in addition to Ebcl).
1. Introduction
2. Kastchei's Enchanted Garden
3. The Firebird Enters, Pursued by Ivan Tsarevich
4. The Firebird's Dance
5. Ivan Tsarevich Captures the Firebird
6. The Firebird Begs to be Released
7. Entrance of the Thirteen Enchanted Princesses
8. The Princesses Play with the Golden Apples (Scherzo)
9. Ivan Tsarevich Appears
10. The Princesses' Khorovod (Round Dance)
11. Daybreak
12. Ivan Tsarevich Enters Kastchei's Palace
13. Entrance of Kastchei the Immortal
14. Dialogue between Kastchei and Ivan Tsarevich
15. The Princesses Plead for Mercy
16. The Firebird Enters
17. Dance of Kastchei's Retinue under the Firebird's
Magic Spell
18. Infernal Dance of Kastchei and His Subjects
19. The Firebird's Lullaby
20. Kastchei Awakens
21. Kastchei's Death
22. Kastchei's Spell Is Broken