Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart :: Serenade No.6, K.239, D major (Serenata notturna)


Dear visitor!
If you haven't found what you were looking for, try our advanced search for members on all composers, works and instrumentation details.
If you are not a member of Daniels' Orchestral Music Online yet, you can subscribe here.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
(b Salzburg, 27 Jan 1756; d Vienna, 5 Dec 1791). Austrian
Serenade No.6, K.239, D major (Serenata notturna) <1776>
solos: 2vn, va, db
Specific information available for subscribers.
Commonly available editions of this work show 2 solo violins with accompaniment for timpani and string orchestra. This is a misrepresentation of the basic double-string-group structure. These editions also may indicate a solo cello doubling the solo double bass; this doubling is spurious.
If performed with single players on each part, the combined string count, including soloists, would be
I. Marcia maestoso
II. Menuetto
III. Rondo: Allegretto - Adagio - Allegro

Additional info
Contents—I. Marcia maestoso; II. Menuetto; III. Rondo: Allegretto - Adagio - Allegro.